Screenshots News

Conservative News Reports from America's West Coast: We the People De-code the Lies & Expose the Spin. Love Wins. This is NOT Rocket Science.

Karma Comes Calling for Randi Zuckerberg, Hilarious

You knew it had to happen. Mark Zuckerberg’s sister Randi Zuckerberg, finally got stung by Facebook’s confusing and hard to manage privacy settings. A photo taken at a private family gathering of Zuckerbergs where family members were gathered in the kitchen, yucking it up about public reactions to the “poke” feature on Facebook, ended up going viral on Twitter when Randi Zuckerberg forgot how her FB privacy settings were configured, sending the photo not just to friends, but also to “friends of friends” as well. How apt.

I never really jumped on the “FB train” from the very beginning, but I did give it a test drive that proved to be revealing. Years back, in 2007 and 2008, a few years after FB took off, I joined and spent some serious time one afternoon setting my privacy protocols. The very next time I logged on, I noticed that about half of those settings had mysteriously defaulted back to “send and show everything to everyone” so I tediously reset them again. Lather rinse repeat. I logged on a month later and the settings I had reconfigured were right back to “send and show everything to everyone.” It wasn’t rocket science to figure out that something wasn’t really right about Facebook. It was creepy and I eventually closed my account. I now keep a very bare bones presence on the behemoth surveillance hub, with one general page for my store blog and that’s it.

Randi Zuckerberg, sister of Facebook co-founder Mark Zuckerberg, complains on Twitter after Facebook photo of her reacting to ‘Poke’ app is tweeted 

Facebook ruins Zuckerberg Xmas

See also http://www.salon.com/2012/12/26/mark_zuckerbergs_sister_is_angry_that_a_family_photo_posted_on_facebook_became_public/

Author: screenshot

Internet junkie, news blogger, sporadic essayist, nature photographer, truth researcher, pastel artist, gardener, blues lover, poet, Spirit Led Cherokee shaman, Ebay jewelry merchant. Moderately right wing, thriving on the left coast. Go figure. Send dark chocolate and Earl Grey tea then I'll think about it.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 980 other followers